After a person is arrested, they go through several levels of proceedings before a case is adjudicated. These phases are:

  1. Arraignment.
  2. Preliminary hearing.
  3. Pretrial motions.
  4. Trial (jury/judge).
  5. Sentencing.
  6. Appeals.

Based on these different levels, pick one that you find interesting and explain what occurs in this step of the process. Try to pick one you know little about so you can learn along the way. You may want to engage in discussions with other students who picked the phases just prior or just after the phase you chose. Ask them about what in your phase affects their phase the most, and vice versa.


Click here to watch the video